How do disabled passengers request wheelchair assistance at airports and on airlines?

Booking a flight is simple! I recommend that you make your flight reservations through Priceline, ensuring that you get the best deal across all airlines. If your trip will have a connecting flight, I recommend a layover of at least 90 minutes. This will allow you the time to move to your next departure gate and use the restroom.

Wheelchair users lined up to board an airplane at the airport gate

If you plan to travel by air with a disability, you should provide your airline with advance notice. Proper notice allows the air carrier time to make necessary preparations, ensuring that your accessibility needs are met. Travelers should also familiarize themselves with the disability services and policies specific to their airline.

After purchasing your airline ticket, you’ll need to contact the airline to request any special assistance that you will need at the airport. Be sure to review the list of airline special assistance request codes before calling the air carrier.

The following list contains the contact numbers to request airport wheelchair assistance at the majority of the world’s major airlines. A link to the disability service web page for each carrier is listed below, along with a telephone number. Where available, a United States telephone number is provided.

AirlineWebsitePhone
Adria Airways (JP)www.adria.si+1 (855) 772-3742
Aegean Airlines (A3)www.aegeanair.com+1 (833) 732-8158
Aer Lingus (EI)www.aerlingus.com+1 (516) 622-4228
Aeroflot (SU)www.aeroflot.com+1 (212) 944-2300
Aerolíneas Argentinas (AR)www.aerolineas.com.ar+1 (800) 333-0276
Aeromexico (AM)www.aeromexico.com+1 (800) 237-6639
AirAsia (AK)www.airasia.com+61 2 8188 2133
airBaltic (BT)www.airbaltic.com+371 6700 6006
Air Belgium (KF)www.airbelgium.com+32 10 23 45 00
Air Canada (AC)www.aircanada.com+1 (888) 247-2262
Air China (CA)www.airchina.com+1 (800) 882-8122
Air Europa (UX)www.aireuropa.com+34 971 92 78 64
Air France (AF)www.airfrance.us+1 (800) 210-6508
Air India (AI)www.airindia.in+1 (800) 223-7776
Air Italy (IG)www.airitaly.com+39 0789 52609
Air Malta (KM)www.airmalta.com+356 2166 2211
Air New Zealand (NZ)www.airnewzealand.co.nz+1 (800) 262-1234
Air Tahiti Nui (TN)www.airtahitinui.com+1 (877) 824-4846
Air Transat (TS)www.airtransat.com+1 (877) 872-6728
Alaska Airlines (AS)www.alaskaair.com+1 (800) 252-7522
Alitalia (AZ)www.alitalia.com+1 (800) 223-5730
American Airlines (AA)www.aa.com+1 (800) 433-7300
ANA (NH)www.ana.co.jp+81 03 6741 8900
Asiana Airlines (OZ)www.flyasiana.com+1 (800) 227-4262
Austrian Airlines (OS)www.austrian.com+43 5 1766 51043
Avianca (AV)www.avianca.com+1 (800) 284-2622
Azul Brazilian Airlines (AD)www.voeazul.com.br+1 (888) 587-3255
Blue Air (0B)www.blueairweb.com+44 1293 874 926
British Airways (BA)www.britishairways.com+1 (800) 778-4838
Brussels Airlines (SN)www.brusselsairlines.com+1 (866) 308-2230
Cathay Pacific (CX)www.cathaypacific.com+1 (800) 233-2742
China Airlines (CI)www.china-airlines.com+1 (800) 227-5118
China Eastern Airlines (MU)www.us.ceair.com+1 (212) 685-8870
China Southern Airlines (CZ)www.csair.com+86 (20) 400 669 5539
CityJet (WX)www.cityjet.com+44 203 48 11 259
Condor (DE)www.condor.com+49 (0) 6171 6988978
Copa Airlines (CP)www.copaair.com+1 (800) 359-2672
Croatia Airlines (OU)www.croatiaairlines.hr+385 1 66 76 555
Czech Airlines (OK)www.csa.cz+1 (855) 359-2932
Delta Air Lines (DL)www.delta.com+1 (404) 209-3434
EasyJet (U2)www.easyjet.com+44 158 227 7147
EgyptAir (MS)www.egyptair.com+1 (212) 581-5600
Emirates (EK)www.emirates.com+1 (800) 777-3999
Ethiopian Airlines (ET)www.ethiopianairlines.com+1 (800) 445-2733
Etihad Airways (EY)www.etihad.com+1 (888) 838-4423
Fiji Airways (FJ)www.fijiairways.com+1 (800) 227-4446
Finnair (AY)www.finnair.com+1 (877) 757-7143
Flydubai (FZ)www.flydubai.com+971 600 54 44 45
Frontier Airlines (F9)www.flyfrontier.com+1 (877) 846-8035
Garuda Indonesia (GA)www.garuda-indonesia.com+1 (800) 342-7832
GOL Airlines (G3)www.voegol.com.br+1 (855) 862-9190
Hawaiian Airlines (HA)www.hawaiianairlines.com+1 (800) 367-5320
Iberia (IB)www.iberia.com+1 (800) 772-4642
Icelandair (FI)www.icelandair.com+1 (800) 223-5500
IndiGo (6E)www.goindigo.in+91 991 038 3838
JAL (JL)www.jal.co.jp+81 03 5460 3783
Jet Airways (9W)www.jetairways.com+1 (877) 835-9538
JetBlue Airways (B6)www.jetblue.com+1 (855) 232-5463
Jetstar (JQ)www.jetstar.com+1 (866) 397-8170
Kenya Airways (KQ)www.kenya-airways.com+1 (866) 536-9224
KLM (KL)www.klm.com+1 (844) 797-7723
Korean Air (KE)www.koreanair.com+1 (800) 438-5000
La Compagnie (B0)www.lacompagnie.com+1 (800) 218-8187
LATAM Airlines (LA)www.latam.com+1 (866) 435-9526
LOT Polish Airlines (LO)www.lot.com+1 (212) 789-0970
Lufthansa (LH)www.lufthansa.com+1 (800) 645-3880
Luxair (LG)www.luxair.lu+352 2456 1
Malaysia Airlines (MH)www.malaysiaairlines.com+1 (800) 552-9264
Middle East Airlines (ME)www.mea.com.lb+1 (800) 491-2741
Norwegian Air Shuttle (DY)www.norwegian.com+1 (800) 357-4159
Oman Air (WY)www.omanair.com+1 (201) 205-2115
Philippine Airlines (PR)www.philippineairlines.com+1 (800) 435-9725
Qantas (QF)www.qantas.com.au+1 (800) 227-4500
Qatar Airways (QR)www.qatarairways.com+1 (877) 777-2827
Royal Air Maroc (AT)www.royalairmaroc.com+212 522 48 97 51
Royal Jordanian Airlines (RJ)www.rj.com+1 (844) 807-3690
Ryanair (FR)www.ryanair.com+44 871 24 60 003
S7 Airlines (S7)www.s7.ru+7 495 783-0707
SAS Scandinavian Airlines (SK)www.flysas.com+1 (800) 221-2350
Saudia (SV)www.saudiairlines.com+1 (800) 472-8342
Scoot (TR)www.flyscoot.com+1 (808) 206-7487
Shenzhen Airlines (ZH)www.shenzhenair.com+86 755 95361-9
Silver Airways (3M)www.silverairways.com+1 (801) 401-9100
Singapore Airlines (SQ)www.singaporeair.com+1 (800) 742-3333
South African Airways (SA)www.flysaa.com+27 11 978 2764
Southwest Airlines (WN)www.southwest.com+1 (800) 435-9792
Spirit Airlines (NK)www.spirit.com+1 (801) 401-2200
SriLankan Airlines (UL)www.srilankan.com+1 (800) 497-4270
Sun Country Airlines (SY)www.suncountry.com+1 (651) 905-2774
SWISS (LX)www.swiss.com+1 (877) 359-7947
TAP Portugal (TP)www.flytap.com+1 (800) 221 7370
TAROM (RO)www.tarom.ro+40 21 9361
Thai Airways (TG)www.thaiairways.com+1 (800) 426-5204
Turkish Airlines (TK)www.turkishairlines.com+1 (800) 874-8875
United Airlines (UA)www.united.com+1 (800) 228-2744
ViaAir (VC)www.flyviaair.com+1 (407) 499-4992
Vietnam Airlines (VN)www.vietnamairlines.com+1 (416) 927-0275
Virgin Atlantic (VS)www.virginatlantic.com+1 (888) 747-7474
Virgin Australia (VA)www.virginaustralia.com+1 (855) 253-8021
Vueling (VY)www.vueling.com+34 90 280 80 05
WestJet (WS)www.westjet.com+1 (888) 937-8538
WOW Air (WW)www.wowair.us+1 (866) 512-8364
XiamenAir (MF)www.xiamenair.com+1 (844) 629-5557

Please note that all airlines have different policies concerning services for passengers with disabilities. International carriers operating outside of the United States are not subject to the Air Carrier Access Act. Before booking a trip with an unfamiliar airline, be sure to study their policies to make sure that your accessibility needs will be met.

If you have any questions about requesting airport wheelchair assistance, feel free to ask them in the comments below. I promise to respond as quickly as possible!